Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04

For the last few months I have mainly been using my NC10 for lightweight work; so I have been using Netbook Remix on 8.10 – https://wiki.ubuntu.com/UNR#Ubuntu%208.10%20(Intrepid)%20UNR%20Package%20Installation

Now that 9.04 is out, it is now possible to install the easy wayhttps://wiki.ubuntu.com/UNR#The%20Easy%20(recommended)%20way

Ubuntu have classified the Samsung NC10 as having Tier 2 compatibility.

These are netbooks that work somewhat, but have problems that may interfere with typical activities at the moment, or many smaller issues.

It is suggested that the Samsung NC10 fails suspend/Resume tests and the Sound recorder does not work on the Samsung NC10 using Jaunty (9.04). I will be installing Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04 at some time in the near future. Let us hope workarounds can be found for the above…

7 Responses to “Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04”

  1. Just installed 9.04 netbook remix to a new NC10, suspend works fine. I havent tried sound recorder tough.

  2. tubegeek Says:

    I just upgraded my wife’s NC10 from Ubuntu 8.10 to 9.04 using the built-in software update manager: worked like a charm! The only thing I had to do to get all the functionality I had before the update was go into the Volume Control applet and adjust the microphone settings (for Skype) – I activated the “Microphone” and “Mic Boost” channels and turned them up, where previously I had been using the “Front Mic” and “Front Mic Boost” channels with the NC10.

    The wireless worked right from the get-go, as did everything else I’ve tested so far.

    Yay!

    Tip: before upgrading, change (in Software Sources) to a different mirror than the default, saved me several hours in download time.

  3. Jon Bradbury Says:

    I’ve installed NBR from scratch. The main problem appears to be low performance from the graphics driver and there are some raised bug reposrts for it. It cannot play standard def video without tearing, and I found on the beta that it could not play a dvd at all. However there are workarounds, see here : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1130582

    The other problem that is annoying me is the touchpad, which still has the over sensitive vertical movement, and the wifi on/off is still not working.

  4. williamjudd Says:

    I’ve blogged about my experiences upgrading my NC10 to 9.04 at http://williamjudd.com/2009/04/26/samsung-nc10-and-ubuntu-904/. Long story short, the upgrade failed miserably, but once I installed in straight, it worked like a charm. For some reason after I hibernated and resumed, sound input has stopped working. It’s a bit odd, but I’m sure there’ll be a fix or a workaround soon. Nice blog, it definitely influenced me to install Ubuntu on my NC10 :)

  5. I think suspend fails if you plug AC adapter during suspend mode. I’d like install ubuntu (or other linux distros) on my nc10, do you say that is a good idea? I’m a bit scared of low graphics performance: gnome require lots of resources. Maybe XUbuntu should be better? I’m not sure about remix interface.

  6. Does anybody know about if the issue with the hard drive cycling is already fixed in 9.04??

    Thanks in advance!

    • Not heard any ‘death clicks’ from the HD so I assume it is no longer using aggressive power management

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

