Ubuntu 9.10 Netbook Remix – Karmic Koala

Wow! Loving the new Netbook Remix redesigned desktop launcher. A considerable improvement in usability and aesthetics. 9.10 Karmic Koala has some great new features such as Software Centre and Ubuntu One (although I prefer Dropbox). I’m not entirely sure what has changed under the hood but my NC10 seems to be running everything faster (possibly due to the new Linux Kernel?). I’m also getting improved battery life, significantly up from a measly 2 hours of heavy use with 9.04. I will report how long I actually get later.

I decided to install 9.10 using the ‘distribution upgrade button’ found in Update Manager. I considered a clean install but decided to take the risk, and have only lost a few KDE applications.

Overall very happy so far. I found that I had to install the new Bios: 11CA available from the Samsung Website to get those problematic brightness function keys working.

3 Responses to “Ubuntu 9.10 Netbook Remix – Karmic Koala”

  1. i just installed the new BIOS version (Win_NC10_11CA07D0) from the samsung website, and it solved the brightness ajusting buttons problem.

  2. http://smorgasbord.gavagai.nl/2009/05/flash-your-samsung-nc10-bios-from-linux/

    How to install new BIOS for Samsung NC10 from Linux.
    Just install flashrom, use a .rom from link above and use flashrom -w /path/to/rom
    Reboot and enjoy. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

