What I did

I got my Samsung NC10 from Micro Anvika (UK) on Friday 31st October 2008.

It took me one hour from unpacking my NC10 to get Ubuntu 8.10 ‘up & running’. There are obviously things that don’t work or don’t work well but that is not surprising… the point of this blog is to document ways of improving things. I have been using 8.10 for over a week now and generally it has been a good experience.

This is what I did to get Ubuntu working on my Samsung NC10. Please do not use this as a guide. If you intend to rely on your NC10 to do proper work then wait until there is an guide to installing Ubuntu on the NC10 at http://ubuntuforums.org/ (Update: see https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NC10) or on a NC10 user forum (when such a thing exists… does anybody know of one?… Update: see http://nc10ubuntu.forumcircle.com/).

  1. My NC10 came preloaded with XP. I jumped through the usual hoops to get it Setup. Samsung have preloaded recovery solution software that partitions your hard drive during Setup. I chose to instruct the software to proceed without a partition. However, on completion I discovered a small partition called RECOVERY which I have left alone.

  2. Next I found a USB pen drive (1GB) and deleted all files. In XP, I downloaded UNETBOOTIN from http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/ and instructed it to download Ubuntu 8.10 (Live) onto my USB pen drive.

  3. I left the USB pen drive attached and restarted the NC10. On restart I held down the F2 key and entered the BIOS. I then reconfigured the boot order to ensure that the USB pen drive was given the highest priority.

  4. Ubuntu Live launched and I began the hard disk install process. I chose to allocate a 40GB partition to XP and used the rest of the disk (leaving the RECOVERY partition alone) for Ubuntu. The installation was successful and on restart the XP partition was available via the GRUB boot loader.

  5. See this post! On the first Ubuntu boot ‘Update Manager’ downloaded and installed various things. The only major thing that does not work ‘out of the box’ using 8.10 is the wireless driver. Apparently Ubuntu does not identify the wireless card correctly. Therefore, I installed a windows driver to get the wireless working by following instructions provided by “formal” on Atheros AR5007EG (AR242x ) in hardy” http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=766169 (first post… NB ignore the other posts about MADWIFI since 8.10 has these drivers as standard.)

Anyhow… that is it for now. There many other things I have done to tweak Ubuntu for use on the NC10. When I get time I will write another post detailing some of them. Please feel free to share some of your experiences.

26 Responses to “What I did”

  1. Please leave some comments! Cheers

  2. This looks great! I am waiting for mine to arrive, and was keen to get 8.10 on it straight away. Couple of questions:

    1. Does the bluetooth work ok out of box?
    2. I understand that the fn keys do not work either – is this true?

  3. Did you get the mic working? That’s proving to be the biggest headache for me.

  4. As reported on http://www.mail-archive.com/desktop-bugs@lists.ubuntu.com/msg236918.html the function keys that adjust display brightness are not working.

    I found that the screen brightness is too low when booting without AC power.
    I can, however, adjust the brightness at the GRUB menu on boot using the function keys. However, I found that I had to disable the auto brightness function in BIOS (hold F2 on boot) to enable this.

    The only other problem I have noticed is that the Wifi on/off function key does not work (not that I expected it to). Other function keys work fine.

  5. Bluetooth seems to work fine ‘out of the box’ although I have not used it much…

  6. My internal mic does not work with “Sound Recorder”… So I guess this is a problem… not tried it with any other applications yet. FYI – it works when using an external mic / headset.

  7. Can you state what keyboard setting you have? I installed mine within Windows – and all worked OK (except for wireless and keyboard). The problem I have is the function keys for the numeric pad take priority over the letters – so in order to type I have to hold down the function key else ½ the letters come out as numbers or symbols. I got the wireless working (although, it is not very fast, but my thanks to the ubuntuforum). Unfortunatley no joy yet with the keyboard.

  8. Aardvark – The install that I did was not within windows, I had no problems with the keyboard when performing the dual boot install detailed in this post

  9. jback,
    Thanks for the info – could you tell me what keyboard layout is selected on your NC10 now? I have tried several different ones – with no joy.

  10. Keyboard settings: Generic 105-Key (Intl) PC – United Kingdom Layout

  11. jback – cheers again for the info, unfortunatley keyboard still providing wrong keys – perhaps something to do with the installation within Windows. I may have to look into removing the installation and re-installing separately.

  12. Very Easy and well written Howto.
    I had no luck with the USB-installation of Ubuntu Studio 8.10 on my NC10. It hung when it came to the software selection | resp. installing selected software.
    I retried with the Ubuntu Live CD. I am now successfully doing this just as you described.
    Please take for for updates, as we all need to share this knowledge.

    Thanks.

  13. Jesus Presley – I’m pleased that you got Ubuntu working. It might be useful for others to know that Ubuntu Studio did not work for you. I must say again that what I wrote should not be used as a “Howto” guide. Just because it worked when I did it does not mean it will work in the future especially when a newer version of Ubuntu Live is available

  14. Thank you so much for posting the link to the details on how to set up a wireless connection. I’ve been trying in vain to get it working with the drivers from the samsung site for about 2 hours!
    Excellent blog so far; more please!

  15. I’ve found another problem: the speakers don’t turn of when a set of headphones is plugged in. Do you have this problem as well?

  16. Pluisje – Having the same problem and it looks like bad news http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=930047 Surely somebody has resolved this? *Update* please see https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/15/internal-speakers-don%E2%80%99t-turn-off-when-using-headphones/

  17. Great, thanks, I’ll try that tonight and leave the results in a comment in the other post.

  18. Webcam works fine straight after install but cannot get wireless working. Had already tried ndiswrapper but still no joy. Also have the speaker/headphone issue which – will try the fix detailed in the workarounds. Have not tried the fn workaround as I added a brightness applet to the top bar which works ok. Would love the mic to work without having to use an external one. ‘Managed’ to remove network, battery and bluetooth set of icons – anyone know how to get them back? Great post btw, glad I found it 🙂

  19. Matski – It is strange that you have had problems getting the wireless working using ndiswrapper. This might be an alternative way but I have yet to try it – http://netbook-forums.com/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=57#p276 – If anybody has then let me know because the use of ndiswrapper is not an ideal solution

  20. jback – found out what the problem is with the keyboard (sort off!) – after the install (both in windows and onto in own partitions) the keyboard layout is fine – however if I upgrade automatically, that’s when the keyboard layout gets a messed up. So basically don’t update.
    I have had the same issue with Fedora 10 (beta). But If I leave them just using the base builds they are both fine.
    Sorry but currently running Fedora now!.

  21. Also forgot to add – the wireless works great in Fedora – no slow running like I got with Ubuntu.

  22. aardvark – Glad you have found a Linux distro you are happy with – I have had no problems with the wireless in Ubuntu with regards to speed

  23. Hm, there is something else I just thought of:

    Isn’t the touchpad supposed to have multitouch support for stuff like zooming in/out with pinching/spreading two fingers on it? Has anyone tried this and got it working on Ubuntu?

  24. Speaker/Headphone conundrum – this is sorted with the latest alsa driver install. Still no internal mic.

    The most annoyingly for me is the wifi. Stock does not work although the driver is listed under driver manager as active and in use. A hardware check detects the wifi chipset also. Tried ndiswrapper with the xp nc10 driver and from the link supplied in this article. Have also tried the other option as suggested by JB on the netbook forum. In each case there is no detection of my wifi network and no mention of the interface 😦

  25. Further comments should be made using the forum located at http://nc10ubuntu.forumcircle.com/

Comments are closed.

