Compiz enabled desktop or Netbook Remix? (updated)

I’m currently running a Compiz enabled desktop on my NC10 and generally enjoy the ‘eye candy’ that it provides. The Intel GMA 950 graphics card just about copes with Compiz… There are, however, slight glitches when opening new windows as sometimes the window content looks ‘garbled’ to start with (e.g., Firefox). Can the GMA 950 be allocated more RAM to play with? If so, will upgrading to 2GB RAM help?

Matski followed the tried and tested enabling compiz on eee with eeexubuntu at http://wiki.eeeuser.com/ubuntu:eeexubuntu:compiz_on_eeexubunto – I found this useful especially as it prompted me to check that I was using the Emerald window decorator. I suspect that many of the problems I had with window rendering was because I was using the GTK window decorator… Using Emerald seems to have helped!

I have also tried Netbook Remix https://launchpad.net/netbook-remix – I was not really blown away by it but maybe it is worth another look at some stage (see https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/kde-41-gnome-with-compiz-netbook-remix/)

7 Responses to “Compiz enabled desktop or Netbook Remix? (updated)”

  1. My friend was impressed when he saw Compiz running on my NC10. He thought Netbooks could not run Compiz… (I did not launch any new windows while he was watching ;o))

  2. Compiz works very well on my nc10. I have not experienced any garbled windowness that you speak off and have more effects enabled than on my desktop (3d windows, random animations etc). I followed the tried and tested enabling compiz on eee with eeexubuntu at http://wiki.eeeuser.com/ubuntu:eeexubuntu:compiz_on_eeexubunto

  3. matski – Thanks for the link. I suspect that many of the problems I had with window rendering was because I was using the GTK window decorator… Using Emerald seems to have helped!

  4. […] In a previous post I reported some problems (now mostly resolved) running Compiz – https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/compiz-enabled-desktop-or-netbook-remix/ – The glitches are starting to irritate. I tried Netbook Remix again (installed on another user […]

  5. Jon – I have not yet upgraded to 2G of ram – logs.Xorg.0.log reports (==) intel(0): VideoRam: 262144 KB – not sure what we can conclude?

  6. Sorry… accidentally deleted Jon’s post…

    Author : Jon Bradbury

    Comment:
    In Ubunto 8.10 with 2G of ram, the /var/logsXorg.0.log file (that is filled out by X when it is starting up) reports VideoRam: 262144kb on my NC10. I still see the occasional garbled screen, but it is very transitory. Anyway, I think if you ahve 2 gigs you can discount the idea that it is due to limited graphics memory; X is taking what it can.

  7. Jon Bradbury Says:

    I guess we can conclude that the X startup procedure ignores total memory and just grabs the maximum. Not the best situation if you only have a gig of RAM. The other thing to conclude is the problem isn’t caused by any lack of video RAM, therefore it must be driver / configuration related. I’m thinking 3D driver, here.

Leave a Reply

