Internal speakers don’t turn off when using headphones (fixed)

Instead of following the complexities of the original post (click on Read more if interested), simple instructions are provided at:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NC10#Audio%20-%20Alsa%20Driver

FYI: Adjusting the internal mic sound levels after install is required to get the mic working

It seems that the NC10 has an unsupported sound driver. I tried (in terminal): head -n 1 /proc/asound/card0/codec* and got: Codec: Realtek ID 272 Anybody found a solution? Does not look good: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=930047

Workaround 5 (use with caution)

Good news it looks like this problem can be resolved… See the comment by pietro

Blackiwid suggests that removing pulseaudio is not required and has found a script that compiles the latest(?) Alsa drivers. Warning: The script is not in line with Debian/Ubuntu rules for package handling. Have the new Alsa drivers been made available through official channels yet?

I found these instructions (Google translation) on the Italian netbooknews site; it provides an alternative to using a script for the installation of the latest ALSA driver. (Every time you install or upgrade to a new kernel you will need a new installation of the ALSA driver).

20 Responses to “Internal speakers don’t turn off when using headphones (fixed)”

  1. Same with mine. I’ve had similar problems with other laptops in the past (Lenovo 3000 and HP 1000 series), and solutions were found by others for these, which I found worked. They required a compilation of the latest (at the time!) ALSA drivers – current Ubuntu offers much later version ALSA than I was using previously on the problem laptops, but not the most recent. I haven’t yet tried to compile the latest ALSA. Another thing I needed to do on the other machines was to use Synaptic to set up Gnome Alsa mixer, and make changes there – it is perhaps significant that on the Samsung the Ubuntu current ALSA mixer doesn’t have many settings available.

    I found a solution to brightness control using the keyboard on my Samsung by Googling – essentially, first download xbacklight, and, if you have ubuntu-tweak installed (you can Google for it), use this to set keyboard shortcuts in it with ‘xbacklight -dec 10’ on one key and ‘xbacklight -inc 10’ on another. If you don’t have tweak, use gconf-editor->apps->metacity and use the keyboard mapping options to set a key to brighten and darken – not sure yet if you can define a Fn key to do this – my machine only arrived 24 hours ago, and much of that time was spent setting up Windows for various options (I cannot live without Lightroom, and it doesn’t run under wine) before risking installing Ubuntu.

    I’ll be continuing to experiment – hope someone comes up with solutions to what for me are relatively minor problems, the lack of Lightroom in Linux is a .

  2. must compile and reinstall the drivers alsa current version! I also removed PulseAudio! now works all!

  3. Yes, recompiled ALSA latest version, and it now seems OK, and more controls shown on the ALSA mixer. I haven’t managed to get the internal mic working for recording, though I can get feedback through the speaker by increasing the mic gain in the mixer. Brightness controls via keyboard can be made to work as I described. An oddity on mine is that using the ‘Restart’ option results in a hang up after Ubuntu apparently terminates properly, requiring a power-off. Doing a Shutdown seems to work, but a nuisance to have to do this and then power-on again.

  4. […] option results in a ‘hang up’ Mike reported that using the ‘Restart’ option results in a hang up after Ubuntu apparently […]

  5. Hm. Nice to hear this, but actually I have two questions now:
    1.
    How do I compile the ALSA driver? Can I use this tutorial: http://alsa.opensrc.org/index.php/CompilingTips ?
    2.
    Just to be sure – which is the current version of ALSA you used?
    3.
    Skype [phone] didn’t work without using PulseAudio. Is it mandatory to remove it?

  6. I am sorry, those were three quetsions not two ;).

    Skype may be working without PulseAudio at other machines. I am quite new to Ubuntu so I am afraid of just deinstalling something I was needing before…

    Cheers.

  7. hi, there is a script that compiles latest alsa and makes all automatic.

    http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=962695

    its no perfect solution, but its easy and works. i did not need to remove pulseaudio.

  8. Awesome. That script worked for me!
    Just a hint: After I downloaded it regarding the instructions, I had to run the script three times seperately, once with each paramter:

    sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.x-rev-1.12.sh -d
    sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.x-rev-1.12.sh -c
    sudo ./AlsaUpgrade-1.0.x-rev-1.12.sh -i

    [the option -f for full install resulted in an error]

  9. Confirmed to work here too. I used the script with -f as I am lazy, it completed without errors 🙂

  10. @Mike, thanks for the xbacklight-tip. I tried mapping them to Fn+up/down with ubuntu-tweak, but it doesn’t catch the Fn-button. It’s now mapped to Ctrl+up/down, close enough 🙂

  11. I also confirm that the script solves this problem. I run it using the -f option. However the sound now sounds a little lower than before!

  12. I found instructions on http://www.netbooknews.it/ubuntu-su-nc10-parte-seconda/ that do not seem to need a script… can anybody translate into English and test?

  13. I can confirm the instructions on that italian website work. I’ll sum them up here:
    If you don’t have them already, get the build essentials:
    sudo apt-get install build-essential
    Then, get the current alsa-driver tarball from http://www.alsa-project.org/ and extract it.
    Go to the extracted directory in the terminal and paste in the following:
    ./configure –with-cards=hda-intel –with-oss=yes –with-sequencer=yes
    Then, do the usual
    make
    sudo make install
    I rebooted after this. Things -do- get a little quieter, but if you open up the mixer by double clicking on the volume applet, you’ll see you now have volume controls for Master, PCM, Front and Front Mic. Crank PCM and Front and you should be back to what you had before, and can control the volume levels with the master volume. I have not tested the front mic since doing this.

  14. Note that those are double dashes before all of those “with” commands in the ./configure line!!

  15. Jon Bradbury Says:

    …and don’t forget the reboot…

  16. I was able to get the internal microphone working after compiling alsa-driver 1.0.18a

    After installing that and rebooting the system, double click on volume control icon -> preferences and check all the boxes. Then go to the options tab and select “front mic” as an input source, then adjust volume levels

    I was able to test with “sound recorder” and skype. For skype, you might have to set “sound in” to “HDA Intel (hw:intel,0)

  17. hey guys. i have followed the instructions to update the alsa drivers on my nc10 but i cannot hear any sound now. all i hear is crackling noises coming from my speakers. I was messing about with audio options and dont know what i have done now. can anybody offer any help.

    what settings should i have in system > preferences > sound

    any help appreciated

    thanks

  18. Please use the forum!

Comments are closed.

