Problems with ACPI?

As I reported on https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/11/what-i-did/ I had no major problems during installation. I am aware that ACPI problems have been reported on the archlinux forum http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=58117 and also when using Ubuntu http://jkkmobile.blogspot.com/2008/10/samsung-nc10-netbook-tested.html (I’m guessing this is only a problem for older versions of Ubuntu). I also found a report suggesting that ACPI was responsible for the screen brightness problem – http://www.mail-archive.com/acpi-bugzilla@lists.sourceforge.net/msg20910.html

Has anybody got anything to say about ACPI or can we just ignore these reports?

9 Responses to “Problems with ACPI?”

  1. The brightness controls are a bit sloppy here. I’ve mapped them to ctrl+up/down using xbrightness & ubuntu-tweak as suggested in a comment here, but sometimes the response is very poor. The same happens if I use the builtin brightness-applet. (which works out of the box by the way, it’s just the Fn-buttons that do not work)

  2. I’ve not had any ACPI problems with Intrepid at start up or normal use, and brightness controls, either mapped to ALT F11 and ALt F12 or using the Gnome applet, seem OK for me. I would have thought the brightness control issue was simply down to keyboard mapping. I haven’t tried any experiments, but I’d have thought acpi or something like that might solve the restart problem though.

  3. Mike: do the brightness controls respons smoothly for you? Here the first few keypresses or applet-slides are ok, but if I put it all the way down and back up, it starts responding slowly.

  4. Jon Bradbury Says:

    ACPI?

    Umm.. I meant the hotkeys.. sorry! I wrote that tip in a hurry – but it came from a thread on the Ubuntu forums. I forgot to attribute the original author.

    Anyway, I am trying to get the fn-keys running as per XP. The place to do this is in the script /usr/share/hotkey-setup/samsung.hk, which gets called at startup by /etc/init.d/hotkey-setup. At present there are threee entries and I have added entries for the brightness keys:

    setkeycodes 0xe008 120
    setkeycodes 0xe009 121

    This allows the kernel to recognise the keypresses, but for some reason they don’t generate a key release event in xev, which is why mapping this to the brightness up/down will cause it to go to max / min on a single press (as reported by Ubuntu forum user alain57.

    For your info, the fn keys generate these scan codes

    fn-up_arrow 0xe008
    fn-down_arrow 0xe009
    fn-f2 0xe003
    fn-f4 0xe002
    fn-f5 0xe004
    fn-f7 0xe031
    fn-f8 0xe033
    fn-f9 0xe006
    fn-f10 0xe077

    …and I see the following keycodes appear to be free in Intrepid:-
    120-124 inclusive
    89-95 inclusive

    So they are enough for now. That’s as far as I’ve got… so far!

  5. To pluisje – I’m not sure that it is consistent, though I’m not sure why it would not be, but it provides enough adjustment for me, and it is more a question of non-linearity (visibly) in the changes which concerns me .

    Jon – thanks, and if you don’t have more details before I get around to it, I’ll investigate the key mapping you mention. I did spend some time using Google to try to find out more about how keymapping is done, but without success, so many thanks for the information. It would certainly be preferable to map changes to the XP keys.

  6. Jon Bradbury Says:

    Yeah, Google – me too. There are too many results for “ubuntu keymapping” – but one of them will have the info.

    A search on the Ubuntu forums for “NC10” revelas just four threads, and one of them covers someone’s efforts at keymapping (that’s alain57’s thread, I think).

  7. I tried installing various ubuntu distributions on my nice new NC10. From a live USB, ubuntu eee autodetected the wireless card stright from the beginnign nd worked nicely, while eeebuntu and ordinary Intrepid didn’t, so I decided to go with ubuntu eee. At first the installer hung on the grub install, but I went into the bios and disabled the ACPI, and it seemed to install just fine. I now have a very nicely working ubuntu eee distro on the machine, which is great.

    The only problem is that I can’t boot into the windows partition. Whoops. The data is all there (I can see the relevant drive from ubuntu, and I can open the files from it which I had put on there before installing ubuntu. But the loader won’t open it). I uninstalled the samsung recovery software before installing ubuntu, but when I select the windows option in the bootloader, it goes into samsung recovery. Which is frustrating, because I know that there is a perfectly functional version of widows there, if only it would open it!

  8. Tom, can you post your Grub config?

  9. It was urgently necessary to recover the windows partition, so I’ve returned it to a full windows machine for the meantime. In a month or so I will no longer need to mirror my work PC on the samsing, and I will be able to experiment with ubuntu wiht impunity!

Comments are closed.

