KDE 4.1 / Gnome (with Compiz) / Netbook Remix?

In a previous post I reported some problems (now mostly resolved) running Compiz – https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/14/compiz-enabled-desktop-or-netbook-remix/The glitches are starting to irritate. I tried Netbook Remix again (installed on another user account) but find it too limiting. Currently I’m playing with the KDE 4.1 desktop, my first impressions are positive, but I have yet to commit. Please share your experiences…

4 Responses to “KDE 4.1 / Gnome (with Compiz) / Netbook Remix?”

  1. Have you tried the KWin effects (“Desktop effects”)? How do they preform compared to Compiz?

  2. […] – I was not really blown away by it but maybe it is worth another look at some stage (see https://nc10ubuntu.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/kde-41-gnome-with-compiz-netbook-remix/) Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)KDE 4.1 / Gnome (with Compiz) / Netbook […]

  3. Hans – KWin runs fairly well but not perfectly using openGL (shared memory), about as well as Compiz I guess, but I will investigate further when I get the time

  4. Has anybody tried the Compiz config instructions on the Wiki? https://help.ubuntu.com/community/NC10#Compiz

Leave a Reply

